“I like to stay in a gated community for its cosmopolitan culture.”

Um. . . me too.

Okay, I won’t lie: I’m posting this article about Bangalorean metropolitan authorities being unable to figure out whether gated communities are legal for no other reason than to take smug potshots at the Gated. To be fair, “cosmopolitan” in Bangalore means what we might in the old days have called “Western,” so the statement isn’t as odd as it might initially sound to American ears. As for, “we have paid crores of rupees to live in a posh locality secluded from urban civic menace,” I’ve got no explanation beyond the obvious.

 

One thought on ““I like to stay in a gated community for its cosmopolitan culture.”

  1. The ad that came up for me along side the article was one for West Elm. I think I might be able to find suitable furnishings there for my gated home were I to own one. I know the ads are selected for the reader based on IP address but I still found it uncomfortably funny considering.

    Your blog is great. It seems so far removed from my life but I am hooked anyway. Thanks for posting it on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

